East Point College of Medical Sciences, East Point Hospital, East Point Group of Institutions

Microbiology is a specialty taught during phase II of MBBS course. It deals with infectious agents, diseases caused by them and also prevention and control. Microbiology is taught under five branches that is, Bacteriology, Immunology, Virology, Parasitology and Mycology.

The faculty of medical Microbiology has experience in catering to patient services by investigating, identifying the infectious agents and in interpreting various tests performed for the identification of the infectious agents.

The department also runs a central laboratory in the hospital which caters to patients needs 24X7. It also actively aids in investigating outbreaks of communicable diseases in the surrounding areas.